What Is Going On?

Throughout the past couple weeks I have noticed that there seems to be a growing disregard for anything holy. At first I was thinking it was an isolated occasion, but I quickly realized that God is being shoved aside all across the nation, click here for an example. These sorts of things: divorce, murder, stealing, adultery, lying, hatred, and so on, got me thinking about why sin is so prevalent among a predominantly Christian nation, at least nominally Christian.

I could say that people have forgotten what sin truly is. People are not “generally good,” we are absolutely evil apart from the grace of God. Ponder this, we are not sinners because we sin; we sin because we are sinners.

I could say that parents fail to parent…they would rather be a friend to their children than an authority.

I could say that the media is saturating our senses with “The New Normal” which is not new, it is merely the same old sin.

I could say that people have lost sight of time, seeming not to care about eternity.

I could say people assume salvation…which ends up being more like self-vation.

I could say that that Selfishness is the god of America and his choice of service is convenience, i.e. abortion.

I could say that people are ignorant of the two destinations of mankind, heaven and hell.

I could say people honor the Golden Rule with their lips, but worship themselves with their energy.

I could say plenty more about the social situation of this nation, my family and friends, and all those you know too. But what is it really? What is it that leads to everything mentioned above, to the horrifying news every night, to the decimation of families, to the broken hearts and lost souls?

I will say that people in this nation have no knowledge of God. Without knowledge of God we cannot interpret our culture properly. Without the knowledge of God we cannot know just how depraved we truly are.

I guess this little rant leads me to one thing. What are you doing Christian? Through the new covenant, installed by the blood of Jesus Christ, God promises this, “I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people” (Jeremiah 31.33). The Way of Christ is marked by the obedience to God’s Word. Know Him, know His ways, and stand firm against the pressures of a difficult culture. If you claim Christ as Savior you must also accept him as Lord. If he is your Lord, then you owe him obedience because he has saved you. Live with the Law of God warmly in your heart.

3 comments

  1. jcforev · · Reply

    Amen!!!!!

  2. Thanks for the astute observations. I guess, when we see this going on we also have to point the finger back at ourselves. Yes I may be a follower of God, but how much do I shove Him out of my life when I am under pressure, or when I want some space to enjoy life, or …? We are infected by the world we live in, and our failure to live a life that honours God sets the scene for the world to go even further.

    1. I agree, nice observations. Sometimes, for myself, I am afraid of speaking up or acting out. In a real sense this is still pushing God away because I am overcome with the fear of man rather than the fear of God. Thanks for adding to the conversation.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 477 other followers

