I Learned of Love

Love is more than a feeling. Love is a contract. No matter whether you like or dislike the character of something you are still able to love it. If I make a judgment on God (which we have no right to do) I may not like what he has done, but I still love him. Therefore, that love must guide my actions no matter how I feel. The covenant of love is stronger than the finitude of my anger, happiness, sadness, resentment or bitterness.

This love is contractual to all Christians. Jesus says, “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another”  John 13:34-35. This is a commandment. If you are a Christian you are bound to this contract. If someone cuts you off on the road you are likely to have harsh feelings for them, but if their tire goes flat you must love them. Yes..this means you must help them change the tire. Your feelings have nothing to do with it. Jesus’ statement is conditional as well. He uses the “if” word. If we love one another all men will know us as His disciples, if we don’t love one another how will anyone know the Good News?

Leave a Reply

