What God does with Sin

I came across this little verse in the book of Genesis. Read it and then we will think about it.

Genesis 50:20 ” You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”

I am writing a paper for class right now in which I must reflect upon the most significant and defining moment of my childhood that has led me to where I am currently. Hands down this moment is the divorce of my parents. Thinking critically and biblically about this moment, we can see that divorce is not a design of God, divorce happens because sin happens. Divorce is a bad thing, the second most important covenant a person can have in life is that of marriage, the union of two becoming one. The first covenant, of course, would be faith in Jesus.

Now, the father of lies, Satan, enticed  Adam and Eve to sin and this was done with the purpose of corrupting all that is good; there was no other motive behind Satan’s attacks than to distort the good creation of God. I am not removing responsibility from anyone by saying that Satan introduced sin, for it was the choice of Adam and Eve that carried it into the world and we are all accountable for our own choices. What I am saying is that in the sin of divorce, some meant it for evil. In the divorce of my parents, a power was at work that tried to tear down the good that God established.

If God had not used the sin for good, I would not have met the pastor’s son who subsequently led me to Christ. If God did not use my parents’ divorce for good, I would not be married to my lovely bride. If God did not use my parents’ divorce for good, I would not be in seminary, I would not be pursuing ordination to preach and teach. If God did not use my parent’s divorce for good, my mother would not be a Christian today.

Do you have a defining moment in your life? One that makes you angry every time you think about it? One that has so molded you that you cannot seem to escape the ramifications of it? How has God used it for good? If your thoughts are too clouded, pray for clarity, ask God to show you how He is using it for good.

Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Think about it, pray about it, and thank God for using the sin in your life for good.

One comment

  1. Susan · · Reply

    Amen sonshine!

Leave a Reply

