Bible Reading

I have already mentioned before that a serious reader of the Bible ought to get a study Bible. I have a couple recommendations: the ESV Study Bible is massive, it has over 2750 pages. This is a serious study Bible that never leaves my desk because of its size. The notes are in-depth ranging from language notes, historical notes, and application notes and more. This is the leather edition and here is the hardcover edition. Another nice study Bible is the ESV Student Study Bible. This one is about 1,000 less pages than its bigger brother, which means you can take it with you. I highly recommend this study Bible as a great place to start, the pages are rich in color and it is a joy to read because the study notes are easy to follow and they guide you along the path of Scripture. Here is the leather edition and here is the hardcover edition. There are of course other study Bibles out there, but these two are my favorite because they not only include a near verse-by-verse notation, book introduction, Old and New Testament introduction, and a Concordance (like most study Bibles), but these two also offer extended study by presenting the reader with essays on a plethora of topics. Here is a list of a few of them: Biblical Interpretation, Methods of Reading the Bible, Reliability of Biblical Manuscripts, Archaeology and the Bible, The Languages of the Bible, The Bible in Christianity and the Bible and World Religions, Theology and Ethics, and a very unique section titled History of Salvation in the Old Testament. I hope you can see why I like, and recommend, these study Bibles!

With that said, I would like to offer yearly reading plans. There are two that are rather good. The first is the simple, “Read the Bible in a Year” plan and that can be found here in pdf. The other was developed by a guy named Robert Murray M’Cheyne. The reading plan he developed allows the reader to go through the New Testament and the Psalms twice in a year, and the rest of the Old Testament once in that same year and it can be found here in pdf. I know that both of these reading plans start on January 1, but I began reading M’Cheyne’s plan two weeks ago. I mentally switched “January 1” to Day 1. I would not recommend starting the reading plan on the scheduled date in the pdf because you would be jumping into the middle of a biblical story, rather start at January 1, also known as Day 1. This way you can begin today and get rid of the excuse, “I will just have to wait until January to read my Bible.”!

Also, esv.org has other reading plans if you would like to peruse them and choose another, they can be found here.
If any of the links are not working post a message and I will fix them as soon as I can.

2 comments

  1. Virginia · · Reply

    I like youversion on my phone – they have different reading plans as well. (Of course, I like to hold my Bible and book & flip the pages, but sometimes it comes in handy with the kids around and keeping track of the reading progress) Glad you’re blogging =)

    1. I imagine desk time gets cut short with a toddler and an infant!!

Leave a Reply

