Children’s Story Bibles

I would like to write a followup blog concerning the Sabbath, but I need to straighten my thoughts out a bit more before I attempt it. So, to further entertain you I thought I would share my experiences with children’s Bibles.

I was at a friend’s house a while back and picked up a children’s Bible off the floor. He promptly shouted, “read how awful that book is!” So I did. The children’s Bible I held in my hands was full of stories steering away from the Bible. David and Goliath were friends, chummy pals in a wrestling match. Jonah was not disobedient, but rather the whale carried him to Nineveh because he did not have a ride to get there. And this is the worst. Jesus did not even die in this book. It said that he went away for three days and his friends were sad, but when he came back everyone was happy again! Yay! Obviously if we are to raise children as the Bible suggests,

6 Train up a child in the way he should go;
even when he is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6,

then we should not hide the truth from them. Granted, when you tell the story of David and Goliath, you ought to mention how David beat Goliath in battle, with the help of God, but we do not necessarily have to mention that David cut Goliath’s head off after taking the giant’s sword, but you can if you want.

I have in my possession a children’s book titled, Icky Sticky, Hairy Scary, full of poems and Scripture concerning biblical stories, and I just want to share what this author writes when he gets to the crucifixion of our Lord.

The Trials, The Whip, And The Cross

From Pilate to Herod
To Pilate again,
Lord Jesus was questioned
By such petty men.

Blindfolded by soldiers
Who beat him and said,
“Now tell us who struck You,”
He silently bled.

Though Pilate tried faintly
To let Jesus go,
The crowd urged, “Crucify!
Let blood on us flow!”

“See here, I have whipped Him,”
Weak Pilate said then.
The nasty whip lashes
Had torn up Christ’s skin.

“Kill Him,” they repeated,
And Pilate gave in.
So with thorns on His head,
Jesus bore all our sin.

To a hill they led Him.
They nailed hands and feet.
It seemed like the Savior
Had met His defeat.

He cried out, “My God,
Why have you left Me?”
Then He said, “It’s finished,”
And He died on the tree.

This short poem, written for children, does not cover up the gross injustice of the cross, nor its meaning. I urge you to remember that what Christ has done for you is indeed offensive, people will scoff and try to make it petty, some even write books that ignore the truth of Jesus and still claim to be Christian. Be discerning in what you read, and especially what you allow your children and loved ones to read. Is this a form of censorship? Yep, but I want to make sure that when I have children they know the truth about the Lord Jesus Christ.

3 comments

  1. […] quote to reflect upon today, in lieu ( I never thought I would get to use that phrase!) of my previous post on choosing your reading material wisely. In the paragraph above (it is so well written I recommend […]

  2. […] quote to reflect upon today, in lieu (I never thought I would get to use that phrase!) of my previous post on choosing your reading material wisely. In the paragraph above (it is so well written I recommend […]

  3. hmmm I had no idea I hope the one I gave to Connor many years ago told the truth about the Lord Jesus Christ I will make sure Kaydens does

Leave a Reply

