Maker of Souls

I was reading Jeremiah yesterday and there is a verse, actually part of a verse, that caught my attention more so than usual. Jeremiah 38.16 reads,

Then King Zedekiah swore secretly to Jeremiah, “As the LORD lives, who made our souls, I will not put you to death or deliver you into the hand of these men who seek your life.”

Of course, you may be thinking, God made us. God made you, and God made me. However, saying that God is the maker of souls really got me thinking about life. In Psalm 139 we read this,

For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.

And earlier in Jeremiah we read,

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
and before you were born I consecrated you;
I appointed you a prophet to the nations.

There are two parts to every person. The body and the soul. God makes both. In the womb God creates, fashions, knits, builds the body, and since you can’t have the body without the soul, we know God makes that as well. This is an interesting miracle, especially as my wife and I approach the due date of our son.

According to Scripture, God is, right now, knitting our son together in my wife’s womb. God is building, as His good and sovereign will sees fit, the body of a baby. But that is not all! God has also made the soul of our son. From the moment of conception, God formed an everlasting soul. This everlasting soul, though it will be impacted by the environment of the home and the teaching my wife and I use, has been made to God’s specifications for His glory.

I see two primary points to gain from this. There are many, but I will stick with two:

1) Abortion is the killing of God’s creation. God makes our bodies and our souls, and if He has made them, then we have no right to end them. The god of convenience is not to be worshipped, the God who makes souls is.

2) We are not our own. Yes, it is true that God uses the means of intercourse to produce more image bearers, but it is by His will that conception occurs. The Lord opens and closes the womb because He is the one who creates the body and soul. Therefore, if God created us, then we owe Him. We owe Him in two ways: a) As image bearers fashioned for His purposes we ought to live for Him, under the blood of Christ, and for His glory. We learn how to live in this manner by God’s revealed Word: b) As parents, we owe Him, to rear our children in the fear of the Lord, to shepherd their hearts toward the cross of Christ, and to train them to think biblically.

In our culture we often hear, “It is my life, and I will live it however I want.” According to Scripture, it is not your life. You did not create it, your body or your soul. God made you, and you owe Him.

Leave a Reply

