Here’s an App, There’s an App

Having had some sort of “smart” technology for the past few months and coming into occasional contact with another person with the same, I thought it may be prudent to share some apps that I commonly use. At certain points throughout the passing weeks I have had moments of sharing apps that have benefited me and others have done the same. So, here is a list of my most commonly used apps.  I use iOS devices, but my wife has a Droid and many of the apps are on both platforms.

  • Solid Joys is a well designed, simple, devotional app from Desiring God ministries. It takes me less than five minutes to read this everyday.

  • You version Bible is the most downloaded Bible app available, and it has many useful features including audio Bible and reading plans.

  • Feedly news aggregator is a news resource that you can customize. It will bring you the news you want based on your preferences and most read news resources. I also use, News 360 and FlipBoard.

  • Faithlife Study Bible is probably the best free study Bible app available. There is enough for the academically curious, but also insightful enough for the everyday churchgoer.

  • Logos Bible is wonderful if you have a Logos account and library. I can link my resource library from my computer to the app and have my Greek and Hebrew studies in my pocket.

  • DropBox, Google Drive, Sky Drive, and Box, are all cloud storage apps that sync with any computer that you log on to. I use these daily.

  • Pocket is the kind of app I enjoy for its simplicity. I use this app if I see a news article, or blog post that I want to read later. I click “save to Pocket” and the article goes right into this app and I can read it when I have the time.

  • Evernote is an ever-improving note taking app, but it is also much more than a note taking app. Spend some time learning how to use Evernote and you won’t go back to anything else. I use this for work at the church, meetings, grocery lists, house renovations, and you can even photo capture hand written notes with high readability.

  • Christian Creeds and Reformed Confessions is essential for the pastor and church member. This app is full of historic creeds and confessions. Get it.

  • BibleMinded is an app put out by the American Bible Society to help with memorization. I use this to help memorize benedictions and other passages of Scripture. You can even set up daily reminders to alert you to study your verse or passage. It is a very clean and easy to use app.

These, of course, are not the only apps I use, but they are the most used apps on my iPhone and iPad. I am also slightly opposed to paying for apps, although I have realized there are some astounding apps that can be purchased, see some here. What apps do you use?

One comment

  1. Thanks for the kind words about the FaithLife Study Bible and the Logos Bible app! (Logos is my employer).

Leave a Reply

