In the Hands of God

“You did not choose me, but I chose you…” John 15:16

“I am afraid that we come perilously close to blasphemy in our exaltation of the human will, setting it over and above (or at least on par with) the will of God. If our decision determines whether God or Satan wins the great battle for our souls, we are in serious trouble.” Michael Horton, Putting Amazing Back Into Grace, page 131.

“If anyone says that God has mercy upon us when, apart from His gift, we believe, will desire, strive, labor, pray, etc., but does not confess that it is by the infusion and inspiration of the Holy Spirit within us that we even have faith, the will, or the strength to do all these things we ought, he contradicts the Apostles…If anyone affirms that we can form any right opinion or make any right choice which relates to the salvation of eternal life, or that we can be saved, that is, assent to the preaching of the gospel through our own powers…he is led away by a heretical spirit…if anyone maintains that he comes through free will, it is proof that he has no place in the true faith.”  Council of Orange (529 AD). John H. Leith, Creeds of the Churches, 3rd ed. page 39.

“26 but you do not believe because you are not among my sheep. 27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.” John 10:26-29

Leave a Reply

