Joyful Like A Child

My son is now two years old and his fine motor skills are…well, they are not fine yet, but the motor is chuggalugging just fine. We have introduced him to coloring books and a bin of crayons, and needless to say, his world has changed. His day used to consist of building for the purpose of demolition. Yeah, those big yellow, green, red, and blue giant Lego-like blocks always got the toddler-zilla karate chop. He didn’t care about the church building that Dadad was building, it must be destroyed. We also smashed cars with monster trucks, threw balls all over the house, and swung the occasional foam sword at everything we deemed to be a monster.

Now we have this on occasion:

He loves to color and I must be honest, he is terrible at it. Like said, the motor is chuggin’ and not quite tuned to perfection. No biggie, I am his dad and I assure him his efforts are great, because they are.

Now here is the draw to our lives in Christ. In Christ, we can call God Most High, we can call Him “Abba, Father” (Romans 8:15). When we bring our gifts to our heavenly Father, let’s be honest, sometimes they are terrible. Here is a personal example: I preach every Lord’s Day at out church at 7pm. I labor in the Word throughout the week to produce, craft, exegete, elaborate, exemplify, a sermon that digs into the vast depths of the Scriptures and to present my efforts to my congregation in way that can be easily understood. On occasion (the usual occasion) my sentiment of my preaching is a little off-putting. For example, all week I am eager to deliver the Word, the sword of truth, and when I am done I feel as though I have given my congregation a wet noodle to wield. And I cry, “Abba, Father.”

I have not ever delivered a perfect sermon, and never will. It is up to the Father to take my feeble efforts and put them to His good purpose. I scribbled on the page, and God says, “I can make that work for my glory. Well done, son.”

If I, as a sinful man, can reassure my son in his efforts to create a work of art, how much more should I turn to my heavenly Father who turns all my imperfections to good for His glory (Romans 8:28)? We are weak, but in His grace and strength through Christ, we have already overcome, we already have the victory, and we have the promise that God will take our labors and use them for His good and perfect will. Even when we drop the ball, scribble outside the lines, accidentally put black Sharpie on the wall, we can know that none of our labors in Christ are done in vain (1 Corinthians 15:58). This is reason to have joy like a two-year-old with a bucket of crayons and your tongue sticking out of the corner of your mouth.This is good news, and this is good news to be thankful for.

 In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you–1 Thessalonians 5:18

Leave a Reply

