The Word of Life

There is nothing more important in the world than the Word of God, and there is nothing more vital for the life of the church than a correct view of the Word of God. The Word of God gives life (Psalm 119:25). The Word of God guards us from sin (Psalm 119:9-11). The Word of God gives us hope and comfort (Psalm 119:49-50). The Word of God gives knowledge (Psalm 119:104, 128, 169). The Word of God is true and endures forever (Psalm 119:160).

Psalm 119 is a love song written to the Word of God. The writer of the Psalm is deeply in love with God’s very Words. The Bible is not an irrelevant book, it is not outdated, and it is not lost in a “complicated” world. In fact all of heaven and earth would pass away before the Word of God does (Isaiah 40:8; Matthew 24:35; Mark 13:31; 1 Peter 1:25).
Paul even tells us that the Bible is breathed out by God (2 Timothy 3:16-17), this means that God has breathed life into the Bible. This ought to bring our minds back to the Garden where God breathed life into Adam (Genesis 2:7). But since the fall of Adam into rebellion humanity has been dead in sin (Ephesians 2:1-3). Being sinners, apart from God’s grace, we have no life in us. So, God gives us life in His Word.

This seems counter-intuitive, in fact many people throughout the ages have scoffed at this, but the Bible tells us that people will think the Bible is folly (1 Corinthians 1:18-31). When we wrestle with the brokenness in us, our abiding sin, that wants to keep us away from the Word the only solution is to turn to the Word.
If we are people of God, that means we are people of the Word. If we have life in God, it has come to us according to His life-giving Word.

My soul clings to the dust;
Revive me according to Your word.
I have declared my ways, and You answered me;
Teach me Your statutes.
Make me understand the way of Your precepts;
So shall I meditate on Your wonderful works.
My soul melts from heaviness;
Strengthen me according to Your word.
Remove from me the way of lying,
And grant me Your law graciously.
I have chosen the way of truth;
Your judgments I have laid before me.
I cling to Your testimonies;
O LORD, do not put me to shame!
I will run the course of Your commandments,
For You shall enlarge my heart.
–Psalm 119:25-32

Leave a Reply

